Recipe Review: Chocolate Peanut Butter Overnight Oats

Original Recipe from Chelsea’s Messy Apron.

I work from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the job I currently hold. Due to how busy we are, that means I take my break usually between 9:30 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. That’s way too early in the morning to pack a sandwich, and I got very tired of spending so much money to eat such unhealthy food at the fast food restaurant I work at. I decided to remedy that by looking up overnight oats, and finding a recipe I could handle.

I have eaten this at least three times a week for the past five months (four times a week for the past two) and I have yet to get sick of it. That’s how good this recipe is to me.

There are only eight ingredients (seven if you skip the sugar, like I do), and it takes absolutely no time to prepare. I make three batches of this at a time (they’ll keep in the fridge for up to three days, or so says the recipe’s creator) and so in the morning it’s just grab and go. During the school year, I work on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays, so I make three batches in their individual bowls on Wednesday nights. It takes about five minutes.

I find that Aldi’s low-fat vanilla yogurt really helps makes this creamy. The other yogurts I’ve tried just end up making it chunky and dry. I use Aldi oatmeal, too, since you can get a giant carton of it for about $2. I do add a teaspoon of chocolate chips to my oatmeal, since I don’t add any sugar. For the most part, this is a relatively healthy recipe. All told, I think I spent $10 buying all of the initial ingredients.

Personally, I just make the overnight oats in the same bowl that I use to store them. That way, I don’t have to do any more dishes than necessary. You don’t have to put things in cute little mason jars. (In fact, I found it harder to eat these out of a mason jar! I use a 2-cup glass Anchor bowl.)

I like overnight oats because they’re simple, and you can jazz them up anyway you want. Do you want more chocolate? Less chocolate? More peanut butter? The way you interpret this recipe is entirely up to you, which is what I love about it. I use the full tablespoon of cocoa powder, but you might not want your oatmeal that chocolately. (Be sure you use old-fashioned oats, not quick oats, or else you’ll end up with a mushy and inedible mess!)

Pros:

  • Super easy to make
  • Incredibly filling (almost 2 cups of oatmeal is a lot!)
  • Cheap ingredients that will last a long time
  • Grab & go convenience
  • You only have to dirty one bowl!

Cons:

  • You might not want something so sweet as a breakfast food

Overall, I can find nothing really wrong with this recipe, unless you’re someone who doesn’t like things sweet. (You can always just not add the sugar, or add extra salt, I guess? I stopped putting in the extra sugar to keep it from being so overly sweet, but honestly I can’t taste much of a difference.)

If you want a quick and easy recipe that tastes delicious, and that you probably won’t get bored of (I’ve been eating it for five months straight with no problems!), then this is your cheap way to go. I give it five stars simply because I haven’t gotten sick of it yet, even after eating it so much.

Enjoy!

starstarstarstarstar

Leave a Reply

