Recipe Review: Baked Penne with Chicken & Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Original recipe from The Art of Comfort Baking. (There’s a lot of dead images, but don’t worry about it. The recipe is still readable.)

This is a recipe I came across several years ago when I was on a “Mom, let’s try a new recipe every week this summer!” kick. (Spoiler alert: that didn’t happen. We tried about four new recipes that summer, and that’s it.)

The best part of this recipe is that we discovered Weber’s Kickin’ Chicken Seasoning (DON’T USE THE MCCORMICK SPICY GRILL SEASONING. DO NOT). It’s literally the best seasoning I’ve come across for chicken. It’s got the right balance of heat and flavor. We buy the jumbo packs of it now.

This recipe looks very complicated at first, but I assure you, it’s really not all that complicated. The hardest part, to me, is the waiting for the cream sauce to thicken up. Sometimes it doesn’t thicken and I’m impatient so I just dump it into the casserole dish as-is.

The sun-dried tomatoes really make this dish, honestly. My dad loves this recipe because of the sun-dried tomatoes. This is the dish that got me to eat tomatoes. (I used to be really picky, but I’m not any more!)

Pros:

  • Easy to make, but a little time-consuming
  • Feeds like 6 people (ignore the fact that the original recipe site says it feeds four; we have served it with four people sitting at the table, with several getting seconds, and still had some leftovers)
  • Warms up great the next day

Cons:

  • If you don’t season the chicken properly, it’s going to be pretty tasteless
  • Breadcrumbs might not be your cup of tea (you can always omit them!)

Overall, I’m giving this recipe a 5/5 star rating. I love this recipe, and I would literally make it every night if that didn’t mean I’d have to touch raw chicken. (I hate touching raw meat.) I made this for Valentine’s Day this year and it was great.

Please, try this out and let me know how it goes for you!

starstarstarstarstar

(Featured image from The Art of Comfort Baking, as I can’t find a picture anywhere in my albums of this dish.)

signature

Leave a Reply

