First Impression Friday: “The Seven and a Half Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle” by Stuart Turton

I’ve really been on a Kindle kick recently. I even went and bought a replacement charging cord for my Kindle Keyboard 3 (that’s how old mine is!) because I got a few books I wanted to read. And some of them were on sale.

One such book is this one, The Seven and a Half Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, and this one has been on my TBR list for a long time. It was on sale for $2.99 so I picked it up thanks to an Amazon gift card I received from work.

From Amazon: 

Aiden Bishop knows the rules. Evelyn Hardcastle will die every day until he can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest at Blackheath Manor. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others. With a locked room mystery that Agatha Christie would envy, Stuart Turton unfurls a breakneck novel of intrigue and suspense.

For fans of Claire North, and Kate Atkinson, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man’s race against time to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist that means nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

So far, I am very much enjoying trying to unravel the story. I am writing this at the beginning of Chapter 5, and according to the Kindle tracker, I am 5% of the way into the book. I feel like that’s a good place to start making predictions, although maybe 10% would be better, if I had the patience.

The story starts by throwing us immediately into the action, with an amnesiac narrator lost in the woods in the middle of a storm, hearing the murder of a woman close to him. In most books, starting off with memory loss is enough to get me to put on my guard, because most of the time it’s just lazy writing. So far that doesn’t seem to be the case, but I suppose we’ll see when we get further, right?

I’m absolutely expecting this to be one of my favorite books of the year. I’ve been avoiding reading it because so many people had hyped it up, but I can see that, at least so far, this hype is warranted. We’ll see you on the flip side!

And as always, keep reading. 

signatureblue

2 thoughts on “First Impression Friday: “The Seven and a Half Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle” by Stuart Turton

  1. I loved this book! I worried that it might be dull, but it isn’t at all. In fact, it only gets better as more and more characters are introduced and the story unfolds. I love Gothic mysteries anyway, so this book was right up my alley. I’ll be curious to see what you think after you’ve finished it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s