#TheReadingQuest Finale!

#TheReadingQuest, hosted by Aetnee @ Read at Midnight, officially ended on September 10th. Let’s take a look at my final numbers:

Screen Shot 2017-09-09 at 11.46.28 PM.png
Here’s a nice spreadsheet to give you some more insights into those numbers! **Note: I did do some math wrong, but it’s fixed in the final numbers below!
  • Books Read: 14
  • Pages Read: 4,786
  • HP Earned: 469
  • EXP Earned: 210
  • Level: 4
  • Books Unfinished: 11

I didn’t do as well as I wanted to. I thought for sure I would be able to get through all of the books I had picked out: I hadn’t intended on my depression being as bad as it was. There were some days where all I did was lie in bed, and even though it would’ve been easy for me to pick up a book while I was curled up under the covers, I couldn’t do it.

On the other hand, I’m proud of how much I did do. I haven’t had a lot of time to read for fun in the past few months. Between writing papers on Ulysses in the spring (that’s a behemoth I’m glad to have conquered) and working at an unpaid internship this summer, I had absolutely no time to do anything for myself. I am super proud of myself for accomplishing everything. I even finished two complete quest lines: The Mage & The Knight.

I’m going to finish reading through my list. With the exception of the books I’ve read before. I put several books on the list I’d done before, and several I’d never cracked open, so I’m going to finish the never-before-read books before putting my Excel spreadsheet away.

I also wrote reviews for every one of the books I read. This one took place more behind the scenes, but as I finished a book, since it was still fresh on my mind, I wrote a review of said book. This has me scheduled full-up on book reviews all the way through to December! I’m sure I may move a few around at some points, but I’m super proud of the diligent way I kept track of my books. I’m also going to work on putting all of the reviews I’ve got on my personal blog onto GoodReads, but that may take a little longer.

I learned to love Excel spreadsheets. I saw other people using them for tracking their reading progress, and since it’s literally been years since I’ve used one, I figured I’d give it a shot. I had no idea how addicting making spreadsheets was. I think I’m going to start (at the beginning of October, so I have a nice round number) making my monthly budgets out on spreadsheets, or at least keeping track of what I spend. Then I’ll print them out and hang them up as a reminder to myself to STOP SPENDING, STUPID. I’ll call them the SSS sheets.

I know I came nowhere close to winning the prize, but I blame my disorganization this time. Next time, I’ll have a plan and a way to execute it. (Also, if it’s held at the same time, I won’t have to worry about school being back in session because I’LL BE ALL GRADUATED AND DONE! So please hold it at the same time, Aetnee!)

Honestly, congrats to those who had the time to read all of the books on their list. I saw several people completed all 25 challenges, which is astonishing to me. I guess they’ve got a lot more free time than I do! (Between school, work, and teaching, I’ve got very little time to just sit and read. Oh, and the depression might have something to do with it, too.)

If you participated in #TheReadingQuest, how did you do? Do you think you’ll participate if it comes back around next year? (I know I will – I’ll make another spreadsheet and go in with a better plan than I did this year!) Let me know in the comments!

And as always, keep reading,

signature

Leave a Reply

