Recipe Review: Oreo Cheesecake from Handle the Heat

Original Recipe from Handle the Heat

I got a springform pan for my wedding last year, and I hadn’t had a chance to use it yet, so my brilliant plan was to make a cheesecake for myself and my husband, without realizing just how big a ten-inch springform pan is.

Note: if you’re going to make this cheesecake, make it for a group of people, or cut the recipe in half and use smaller springform pans. (I’m hoping to get a small springform pan, maybe a five-inch one if they make it, because I want to make this recipe again and I can’t do a large one!)

Oreo Truffle Cheesecake is a completely over-the-top sinful dessert with an Oreo crust, Oreo cheesecake filling, chocolate ganache, and Oreo truffles on top! Holy YUM.
From Handle the Heat

What I Changed: I didn’t add the Oreo truffles to the top of the cheesecake, because as I mentioned previously, I was making this for just me and my husband and the Oreo truffles seemed like…overkill. I did add some crumbled up Oreos on top. If I were to make this for a group/a fancy event, I absolutely would have added the truffles. As it stands, I didn’t want to give myself any extra work.

What I Would Change: Honestly, the only thing I would change would be to make the thing smaller. I want a five-inch springform pan (if possible), because then it would be a reasonable amount of cheesecake. I made this with a ten-inch pan and it’s obscene how large this cheesecake was.

Also, I would have left the cheesecake in the oven just a tiny bit less because my top got a little bit too brown for my liking. But the top is covered with ganache anyway so it doesn’t matter (but it did for the TikTok I posted of my cheesecake!).

Oreo Cheesecake is a completely over-the-top sinful dessert with an Oreo crust, Oreo cheesecake filling, chocolate ganache, and Oreo truffles on top! Holy YUM.
From Handle the Heat

How Sweet Is This? It’s so, so sweet. Like I absolutely love sweets and I had a hard time getting through even a medium-ish slice of this cheesecake. It’s so rich and creamy that it’s hard to eat a large slice! We ended up eating it for about a week and even then I think we kept it too long (Steven didn’t eat his last slice because he said it tasted rotten, but it tasted fine to me and I didn’t have any stomach problems after that). This is definitely a sharing recipe.

Final Thoughts: I can’t believe my cheesecake came out looking exactly like the creator’s. It was incredibly easy to make. It is time-consuming, but that’s only because the cheesecake has to set up and it takes about an hour or so to bake in the oven. Other than the waiting, there really isn’t a lot of active participation in this cheesecake, which is great. If you’re making it to take to an event, I’d suggest making it the day before the event (unless your event is late in the evening and you get up early to make it), just to be sure that everything is nice and set before you cut into it.

Would I make this again? Absolutely. This is an easy 5/5 star recipe for me, and I will be making it again as soon as I have a gathering of friends large enough to warrant taking a cheesecake to. Also, maybe when cream cheese goes on sale. It’s pretty pricey (and yes, I did use Philadelphia cream cheese for this and name-brand Oreos. We’re not here to skimp on our desserts), but it is absolutely worth it in the end.

Do you have a favorite cheesecake recipe? Do you make mini cheesecakes? Let me know in the comments!

And as always, keep reading.

One thought on “Recipe Review: Oreo Cheesecake from Handle the Heat

Leave a comment