Animal Crossing: New Horizons Book Tag

It’s been so long since I’ve done a book tag! My absolute obsession recently has been Animal Crossing: New Horizons (like the majority of the internet, ha!), and I came across this book tag on YA On My Mind and knew I had to do it! This tag is originally from Books & Dachshunds.

 New Villagers; New-to-you author you’d wanna read soon

So I’ve heard a lot of things about Jay Kristoff in the book-blogging world, and now I’m starting to hear things about him from my friends, so maybe that means I’m late joining this party.

Dodo Airlines; Book that makes you travel to other part(s) of the world

I’m over here doing a distant stare and trying to think of what books I could possibly put here. What about The Expanse by James SA Corey? It takes place in space, where humans have not quite figured out faster-than-light travel, and so they’re stuck just beyond Mars and the Asteroid Belt in terms of exploration. Old Man’s War and its sequels by John Scalzi should also be here. I think space is one of those places that I would like to go at some point, but with how many things that can go wrong up there, I think I’m better at keeping my feet right here on Earth.

Deserted Island; Pick 3 books you’d go on a deserted island with!

Lord of the Rings, of course. There’s so much in that one book (and it is one book, just divided into six sub-books) that you could read and re-read it over and over again and still find new things.

Maybe something from The Expanse, because I’ve been meaning to re-read the series. However, if it’s just one book, then I’m out of luck, aren’t I? I’d get to a cliffhanger and not be able to finish it! (What if we just change this to series — yeah, let’s do that.)

And then The Wheel of Time series. There’s a million books and they’re all a thousand pages or so. Sitting on a desert island surrounded by 15,000 pages of reading material sounds like a good time to me!

Nook Phone; Favorite book you’ve read as Ebook or Audiobook

This one is an absolute tie between Off to Be the Wizard by Scott Meyer or Android’s Dream by John Scalzi. I first tried to read Off to Be the Wizard as a normal book, but I couldn’t get into it. A few years later (maybe only one or two, I can’t keep track of time), I came across it while using someone’s Audible subscription, and listened to it and all of its sequels. It’s amazing. The narrator is perfect, and there’s an amazing amount of comedy in it that I don’t know translates very well when it’s just words on a page. I haven’t gone back and tried to read it since, but I might have to check it out since, you know, we’re all quarantined and whatnot.

Android’s Dream is also one that I listened to first, but I went back and bought the physical copy and enjoyed it just as much. I am very glad that I listened to it first, though, because some of the alien races have seriously unpronounceable names. But please, do pick it up!!

Toe beans; Your favorite pet/creature from a book

I’m over here trying to figure out if there are any pets in the books that I’ve read recently! Or creatures. Wait — I’ve been cutting up a copy of The Cat Who Could Read Backwards for my wedding flowers – Koko is definitely an amazing cat. (Because he solves every murder thrown his way, of course!)

Honorable mentions include Crookshanks and Buckbeak (I’m also cutting up The Prisoner of Azkaban). Mostly, let’s go with every book that’s got an adorable/smart cat in it.

Evolution; The most memorable character growth

stares intently at bookshelf

I am completely at a loss on this one. I like John Perry from Old Man’s War  and Matthias from Redwall and Samwise Gamgee from The Lord of the Rings but I can’t think of one that I like that tops all of them. My fiancé tells me that Egwyne from Wheel of Time has one of the best character arcs with Mat close behind, but I’m not quite there yet and Egwyne is still just irritating to me. I suppose it’s been so long since I’ve read a vast multitude of books that I’ve got a lot of catching up to do! (Seriously, I read less than 20 books last year — how embarrassing.)

And there you have it! Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got an island to terraform.

And as always, keep reading.

signatureblue

One thought on “Animal Crossing: New Horizons Book Tag

  1. Interesting answers, thank you for doing my tag! 🥰

    Yesh I don’t think going to space is for me … i’ll pass ahaha being claustrophobic AND anxious, I just can’t imagine starting to panic in this small spaceship FAR AWAY from earth. You can’t say « just drop me there », you’re stuck 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment